Skip to content

Last Thoughts

October 18, 2010

My time here in Southern Italy has finally come to an end. Due to technological issues, I have not been able to share many of my recent adventures, which I will have to update in the future.

I would like to thank first my teammates (roommates), for there would be no story and no fun without them; Our president, because there would be no teammates without him; the fans in Caserta for their support; the friends we have made throughout the year, and our personal tour guide Erasmo (and his wonderful, tolerating wife Silvia, who listens to each and every lecture he gives…). I have found Caserta (and Napoli) to be hospitable, full of character, and a wonderful place to spend 8 months.

In five short years, I learned more about European history than I ever thought possible, enhanced my gastronomical taste in cuisine and wine, learned the Italian language on an advanced level, and most importantly submerged myself in a completely foreign culture and came away loving it.

Embracing the Italian method of living in the moment, I can not say whether or not I will return. A part of me will always remain in this country, especially the South. I end with a quote, from the first Italian film I recently viewed in theatres, Benvenuti al Sud:

“Quando vieni al Sud piangi due volte, sia quando arrivi, sia quando te ne vai.”

(When you come to the South, you cry twice: once when you arrive and once when you leave.)

Oh, and we won the championship for the second consecutive year…

 

No comments yet

Leave a comment